14 things I learned in 2014.

1. When life tries to teach you a lesson, learn from it.

Mistakes are inevitable. At this point in our lives, failure is always our companion. I learned that these are the things that can either make us or break us, depending on how we would view them. In the end, it will be our choice on how we handle the things we encounter.

2. Be happy.

Happiness is a choice. We may be undergoing some tough circumstances but the option of happiness is still in our hands. As the saying goes, “Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.”

3. Manage your time.

Yes we are all busy. But we need to find time for all the things we want especially for all the people we love. Time flies whether we like it or not. So please stop saying “I don’t have time”, try saying “It’s not a priority” and ask yourself whether it makes a difference. Because you will always have the time,you just need to prioritize things and manage your time wisely.

4. Let go.

Some things are worth keeping while others are not. When these things hurt you more than what you think it should, then maybe it’s not worth suffering for.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

5. Have faith.

Prayers can do a lot. It doesn’t only help our spiritual being, but it also helps us think more about our lives. I’m not a religious person myself, but I believe that there is a God that sees us and works with us. I learned that having faith not only to God but also to ourselves can move us to greater places we have never imagined.

6. Grow.

Growing doesn’t necessarily mean you need to be mature. It only suggests that as time goes by, we also need to ponder on things that makes us better. It may not be a huge leap like getting the success we want from our careers or expanding our lifestyles to the way we want it to be, but taking few little steps that leads to them.

7. Love what you do.

More often than not, people tell us to do what we love so we can work without having the stress of working. Contrary to this idea, I learned that it is best to love what you are doing. Whether we like it or not, we will probably be stuck in a position that we have never wanted to be in. Like what my father used to tell me, “gagawa ka na rin lang, gawin mo na ng maayos” (if you’re going to do something, better do it the right way). I learned that doing this do not only make the work easier but it makes all the effort so much worth it especially when the people appreciate what you do.

8. Give.

Share whatever you have. May it be your blessings, your ideas, your learnings or experiences. There is no better way of appreciating what you have than giving a part of it to others. “For it is in giving that we recieve.”

9. Save for the future.

You will never know when you will need it. I spend so much money on things but I still know how to save because I like looking at my check book account more than looking at the things I bought. (Hahaha!)

10. When in doubt, remember that karma exists.

I believe in karma. And trust me, I almost rely to it whenever I make a decision for myself more than any other kind of philosophy.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

11. Love deeply.

Same concept with whatever I do…if you’re going to love, better to give your all. So in the end, you will have no regrets because you know you did your best.

12. Take things in balance.

Know when to take things lightly or seriously. Some circumatances may require your serious self like your career. Others like the random jokes by your colleagues should be taken lightly. Also, don’t be too hard on yourself. Relax when you need it.

13. Treat every person the way you want to be treated.

This applies especially to my career since I deal with patients all the time. I learned that doing so also makes the people respect you. We have different decisions and views. And as much as I want you to believe everything I’ve written, you may still disagree on some or most of what I’ve said. Anyway, some people just don’t get this. I hope you do. Same as Newton’s 3rd law: for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.

14. Move on.

Move on with your life, your career, your emotions, your financial status, your social life, your love life, everything! It’s not the end of the world! Challenges and failures are there not to put you down but to make you stronger each day. So hold on, fix yourself and make sure that you believe yourself because trying to move on with your life isn’t that hard. You just have to believe that you can and you will.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Sorry for the very long post. Haha!

Looking forward to the better days next year! Happy new year everyone! ☺ (L)

Leave a Reply

